Montebello Rural Transit Symposium Transport Rural: April 27

Eastern Ontario and Western Québec Rural Transit Symposium: Picking up steam

Avril 27: Montebello: Rural Transit Symposium Transport Rural: April 27
Fairmont Le Château Montebello
392 Notre Dame
Montebello, Québec
20 $ incluant déjeuner, dîner et rafraîchissements

The Second Rural Transit Symposium to be held at Le Château Montebello by Eastern Ontario and Western Québec rural transit bodies on Wednesday April 27 is gaining momentum with fifty-five participants now confirmed.

The prefect of the MRC Papineau will greet attendees. MPP Jean-Marc Lalonde will represent the Ontario Government. Simultaneous interpretation will facilitate participation for all.

Headline speaker Todd Litman of the Victoria Public Transit Institute is prepared to deliver a strong message on the economic benefits of rural transit and on ways to  improve rural transit.

The Symposium will feature workshops on:

How to maximize the benefits for passengers
Economic impacts of transit in rural communities
Media's contributions to the development of rural transit
The Pontiac-Renfrew passenger train plan
Le symposium comprendra les ateliers suivants:
Comment maximiser les bénéfices des usagers
Impacts économiques du transport collectif en millieu rural
La contribution des médias au développement du transport collectif
Les trains voyageurs Pontiac-Renfrew
Todd Alexander Litman, Executive Director of the Victoria Transport Policy Institute, will share his thoughts and experiences with you during this event.

Base funding comes from the Secrétariat des Affaires intergouvernementales du Québec and other bodies. Sponsors of the event include 417 Bus Line, Lasalle Bus Lines, VIA Rail, RailFuture Group, JDA Consulting, Société Gestrans, la Fromagerie St-Albert and the United Counties of Prescott & Russell.

SVP: Complete the attached registration form if you plan on attending.
En français

More info: Mary J. McCuaig
613-764-5444 ext. 222
Fax: 613-764-3310

The Château Montebello can be reached at 1-800-257-7544.

Participants include:

- Transports Adaptés et Colledtifs des Collines
- United Counties of Prescott-Russell
- NGPR Transport Board
- Economic Development and Employability Network
- Municipality of Casselman
- Municipality La Nation
- Renfrew Community Development Corporation
- SD&G Community Futures Development Corporation
- Make Way for Youth
- Friends of the Steam Train
- Ottawa University
- City of Pemproke
- Whitewater Region
- Township of North Glengarry
- mOOse Consortium: Mobility Ottawa-Outaouais Systems and Enterprises
- Regional Council of Environment and Sustainable Development of Outaouais
- JDA Consulting
- Ontario Cooperative Council
- TransportAction Pontiac
- Transit Eastern Ontario
- Le Phénix
- CFDC of Pontiac
- United Counties of Prescott-Russell Accessibility Committee
- Victoria Transport Policy Institute
- Pontiac-Renfrew Commuter Trains