Webster Memorial Trophy, La crème des aviateurs

Kevin Aalders is Canada's top amateur pilot. Aalders won  the Webster Memorial Trophy in a competition at Grondair, in St. Frederic, Quebec, this weekend. Aalders flies out of the Centennial Flight School, Edmonton, Alberta.  The 2011 runner-up is Justin Mailman from Moncton Flight College, Moncton, NB.

Amy Foy says."The Webster Team and our sponsor, Air Canada Flight Operations, wish to congratulate Kevin, Justin and all the regional finalists for their excellent performance and an extraordinary competition."

Aalders captures 2011 Webster Memorial Trophy
Wings Magazine, Matt Nicholls

Kevin Aalders, Wings Magazine
Aug. 23, 2011, Quebec City, Que. – For Kevin Aalders, capturing the 2011 Webster Memorial Trophy as Canada’s top amateur pilot is more than simply the culmination of a wonderful journey. It’s a testament to the fact that good things really do happen if you believe in your dreams and do whatever it takes to make them happen. “It’s wild, I really don’t know what to say,” the 29-year-old told Wings shortly after capturing the coveted award as Canada’s Top Amateur pilot. “It’s great, because I’ve really worked hard to get here.”

Wings Magazine reported: "The 2011 Webster Trophy Ceremony was held Aug. 20 at the Delta Quebec Hotel in Quebec City and featured an impressive array of industry heavyweights in attendance, from current and retired pilots, Transport Canada officials to past winners. It was the fitting conclusion to a spirited week of competition and learning for the nine regional finalists selected from a pool of 105 applicants – the most in the competition’s history. The event was brilliantly hosted by Grondair in St. Frederic, Que., as all elements went without a hitch – thanks to the careful planning and execution of ceremony stewards Wayne and Amy Foy."

La crème des aviateurs à Saint-Frédéric
Edition Beauce, Hubert Lapointe, le 18 août 2011
Du 17 au 20 août, l'Aéroport Grondair de Saint-Frédéric a été l'hôte de la « Webster Memorial Trophy Competition ». Commandité par Air Canada, l'événement rassemblait les meilleurs pilotes amateurs de neuf régions du Canada.

Joshua Shea et Matthew Duplan.